My oven makes amazing things!

Baked Goods

I love to bake, especially from scratch! It is one of my passions. I love to bake birthday cakes for family and friends, I loved baking fresh loaves of bread, and come Thanksgiving and Christmas, I bake all sorts of goodies for dinner and parties. I recently brought a dessert to a St. Patrick’s Day party; one person asked what I brought, and another said, “It doesn’t matter, it’s going to be good.” When I started my real food diet and eliminated wheat, it also meant that everything in the picture above off limits. Or so I thought. Can you believe that seven of the items above are things that I can eat on my diet? Yes, seven!

I don’t remember how I came across these, but the Butterfinger Dough Balls from Running to the Kitchen were the first dessert type foods I made. They satisfied my cravings for chocolate and something sweet. Then in December my friend asked me to bake her daughter’s birthday cake. It was grain free, dairy free and processed sugar free. At first I wasn’t sure because it was probably very different from baking traditional baked goods. Then when I saw the ingredients and instructions, I realized it was exactly like traditional baking. The cake was amazing! You can see it in the second row, all the way to the right. I browsed the rest of the The Urban Poser and found lots of amazing recipes that I wanted to try.

Since then I’ve discovered a variety of grain free baked goods and treats. Thanks to almond flour and coconut flour I’ve been able to make cakes, cookies and muffins. I even got to have chocolate cupcakes for my birthday. Of course, they are still treats and they are not something that I eat every day. Isn’t it great that even on a real food diet you can still splurge and have a delicious treat? Be sure to check out the “About” section for links to great websites that have delicious recipes.

Leave a Reply

