Day Seven

Holy cow, what a weekend! I spent so much time in the kitchen these last three days. I think I need to invest in those professional gel mats because my back is killing me. I make sure to wear my Birkenstocks when I spend that much time cooking and baking because other wise I would be a real mess.

This weekend I made:

  • Irish Car Bomb Cake – a chocolate Guinness cake with a chocolate whiskey ganache and Irish cream frosting
  • Baked Ziti with a sauce from scratch
  • Rosemary Drop Biscuits, a double batch from scratch
  • Salsa – thank goodness for my Kitchen Aid food processor
  • Chicken Cheddar Quinoa Bake
  • And of course, the stuff on my cleanse

I think I dirtied every pot, pan and bowl in my kitchen. There was a lot of hand washing and three cycles in the dishwasher, with a fourth to come shortly.

This was the first time that I felt a little sad that I couldn’t eat what I made. The cake I made for a friend’s birthday party. It was one of two cakes there, the other was a white cake with strawberry filling (I think) and white frosting with huge frosting flowers. I loved frosting flowers. When I ate these kinds of cakes I always wanted a piece with a big flower. I just love butter cream frosting. In my past life I would have eaten a slice of both cakes.

The baked ziti I’ve had before and it’s very good. I’m not a big fan of pasta, so I don’t miss pasta dishes very much. What I did miss were the rolls. I loved bread, and I made these rolls often in my previous life. They are so tender, and buttery and just so freaking good. I sniffed them longingly. We had a house full of people and everyone was digging in. And there is me, in the corner, eating my own thing. It made me feel like an outsider.

Back to day seven. Sadly, I don’t have a picture of today’s juice. We were up until almost 1 am yesterday, and I slept in until 10 am (can you tell I don’t have kids). I skipped the juice and went right on with my day. I thought about making it a few times during the day, but I was so tired I wasn’t up to it. Instead I’ll make it tonight with tomorrow’s juice and have a little variety for a tomorrow.

Today I did something that I should have done last week: buy the stuff for this week’s cleanse! I’m so excited about this week for one reason: TOSTADAS! I love beans, and I have a confession to make. I, having been born into a Mexican family, HAVE NEVER MADE REFRIED BEANS! I know, right!? (And until recently had never made my own salsa). I don’t know how my mother and grandmother can stand the shame I brought onto our family. I kid, of course! I am going to try the slow cooker refried beans from the 100 Days of Real Food. I’ve got everything sitting (but the water) in the Crock-Pot now. I’ll add the water just before bed and by morning I should have beans!

Leave a Reply

