Bread

I loved bread. No, I still love bread. Even though I’m no longer eating anything made with flour, there will always be a place in my heart for a warm slice of bread right out of the oven, spread with some delicious, real butter. Which is why I am amazed at myself that I have gone almost 10 months without eating bread or anything made with flour. A lot of my friends comment about how they could never give up bread. I was the same way just one year ago.

I remember when hubby and I did the South Beach Diet, I agonized over the fact that we could not eat any carbs the first two weeks. I was so happy when we were able to reintroduce bread two weeks later. It wasn’t until I stopped eating flour that I realized how much I relied on bread to fill me up. Everywhere you look something is made flour. Here are some examples of all those yummy things I used to love eating.

Breakfast consisted of eggs with toast or just cereal, and on the weekends I would have pancakes, waffles or french toast.

Lunch would always include bread, especially if it was a sandwich, hamburger or hot dog. I loved getting a Panda Express Panda Bowl of Orange Chicken or if I was being healthy a six-inch sub. One of my favorite places to eat was a Mediterranean restaurant that served their dishes with pita bread. Even a wrap was wrapped in bread. Let’s not forget salads with their yummy croutons.

For dinner I would make a pasta dish which of course had to have garlic bread or bread sticks. If I made a chicken dish I would sometimes bake rolls/biscuits to go along with our dinner. There was always the option to eat pizza, and who doesn’t like pizza? I didn’t fry foods at home, but if we went to a restaurant I’d order a burger or chicken sandwich, maybe some chicken strips with all their breaded goodness.

My favorite dessert came with bread: ice cream with a waffle cone. Cookies, cakes and brownies are nothing but bread. If I baked a cake I would eat some for breakfast. Cookies didn’t last very long, and I admit that I once at a whole pan of No Pudge Brownies when I was home sick. But they were fat free!

So ya, giving up bread wasn’t easy. I didn’t go low- or no-carb with my new diet, but eliminating flour cut out so many carbs. Since I wasn’t filling up on bread, I had to find other things to fill up on. Like more fruits and veggies. Which is a good thing.

I’ve since discovered baking with almond and coconut flours. I’ve made cookies, cakes, muffins, scones, cupcakes and even a cheesecake. They are just as yummy as the conventional baked goods. I have to remind myself that they are still treats and make sure to make them sparingly.

Funny thing is, my body is doing so much better without bread. Interestingly, if I eat anything with flour my body feels like it has a hangover. It’s easy to stay away from breads knowing how my body will react.

One thought on “Bread

  1. I’m so very proud of you E! You look amazing and are inspiring me more and more each day.You are so close to your goal, keep it up girl! Hopefully I’ll be joining you in the “skinny girls” club someday!

Leave a Reply

